In the blink of an eye…

… it’s over!

Well, this has been a whirlwind first class.  Not only have I worked to wrap my head around some of the contemporary issues of EdTech, but I’ve also developed many skills along the way.   Can you believe that I’ve never blogged before?

I had wanted to use PowToon to create the opening video for our debate, but the process seemed overwhelming.  We ended up using Prezi for it instead, a program that I am familiar with, but adding the audio layer and recording it with Screencastify added another layer of complexity for me.

But for my Summary of Learning, I decided to take on the challenge of using PowToon.   I haven’t really used much video or sound editing software since I was in high school  (more years ago than I care to admit) making videos in my Communication Production Technology class, so it wasn’t easy (don’t be fooled by PowToon’s claim that you can “get it done in 5 mins!”).  However, after a lot of time–a little more than five minutes– I’m proud to say that I did it!

This class and it’s format have been wonderful and I’m glad that I had this opportunity.

Check out my Summary of Learning (in two parts) below:

Part 1/2:

Part 2/2

 

3 thoughts on “In the blink of an eye…

  1. Hi Ian, it was great taking the class with you. I especially loved your perspective you provided in your debate on equity, and it had me thinking a lot afterwards. Enjoy your summer, and I’m sure I’ll see you around soon.

    Like

    • Same to you. Definitely made a point of checking our your blog each week. Maybe we will end up in another class sometime, but I’m starting that masters program in Saskatoon this summer so my u of r stuff may be on hold… although I suppose I might as well work on two at once, right?

      Like

  2. Great work Ian! I enjoyed watching your summary of learning and reading your blog posts throughout the semester. I agree that does take longer to create a PowToon video than they claim. This is my third educational technology class that I have taken with Alec and Katia. My head was still spinning with trying to decide what side of the debates I agreed or disagreed with and making connections to what I learned. I liked how you pointed out that kids are resilient and the importance of modeling appropriate behaviour and teaching digital citizenship. I never knew about digital citizenship until I started taking education technology classes and I am very grateful to have knowledge in that area now and know fantastic resources that I can turn use. Are you working on two degrees now?!? Congrats! I wish you continued success and hope you have a wonderful summer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

